X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• food & drinks

I have lived in Japan twice as a exchange student and as a chef at japanese style hotel in both cases i didnt have to worry about buying for food for myself. When i was a exchange student i went to a japanese co-ed boarding school so the cost of food and drinks was covered by the school and when i was a chef we all ate our dinner and breakfast etc... at the hotel.

SO i was wondering how much will i expect to spend on food and drinks for a month? would about 80,000yen cover it?

Re: food & drinks

well if your Japanese wife cooks for you it will be cheaper. Where did you find her?

Comment

I said i dont have a japanese wife just a girlfriend(long-term relationship)

I met her in Kyoto

Comment

Figure on 30,000-40,000 yen/month for groceries.

If you go out twice a week and drink moderately, you will probably spend 30,000-50,000 yen/month on this. Depends a lot on whether you order snacks with your drinks, whether you eat/drink in tabehodai/nomihodai style, whether you miss that last train/subway home and need the taxi that charges double fare after midnight, etc.

Comment

Thank you. Where in Kyoto?

Comment

a guest house!

give it up man! no one can answer your questions you want the only person who answer them is you!

ANYWAY

Glenski--- is 30,000yen-40,000yen really enough?does this cover all 3 meals?

Comment

I;m in the same situation as you......I have never had to pay for food when living in Japan (unless I ate out)......well, along with Glenski, I also came up with the 30,000-40,000 figure. That is without eating out......

Comment

Jackie.....i thought it would cost about 70,000-80,000yen figure.

Comment

i allow myself about 10,000 - 15,000 a week for food (not including eating out)

Comment

If you don't eat out, you can eat on 20-30,000 yen / mo. easily. but you hafta know how to shop...

Comment