X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MP3 players

The ssalesman at Bic Camera told me I needed Japanese windows to play any of their selection of MP3 players (or at least I think that is what he said, as neither of us spoke each other's languages that well). Is this really true?

I have my eye on a really nice panasonic one that is reallly cheap here.

my computer doesnt have a CD rom drive either (it is a cute tablet thing) will this be a problem?

Re: MP3 players

Hi, it could be true, if the driver and software is in Japanese. But I have some strange experiences with salesmen in Japan- they often tell me you need a Japanese computer, but they really don't know. I would guess that if it's an international model, english software would be avaliable.
    You need to find out if the software is on a disk or a cd rom. If it's on a cd rom you must have a cd rom drive. Also check the internet if it has the necessary software.

Comment

Japanese MP3 players all use a copy protection system where you must copy the files through a PC program which modifies it so it can play on the MP3 player but can not be recopied. If the player is a Japan model you will need Japanese windows to display the menus in this program, plus you will need to be able to READ the menus in JAPANESE to use it.

IF the model is also sold for export you MAY be able to find a english version of the software on their website.

Remember, the player is useless without this software.

And if you can't download the software, then yes you need a CD ROM .

Post Edited (04-29-04 09:30)

Comment

rhiannon,