X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tokyo Stock Exchange fiasco

I tried discussing the articles but it's an invalid link hence this thread --

I'm not an expert investor/financial person by any means. However, I have a question --

From what I understood, most stocks split (or do something similar) when the individual share price gets too high. I'm not understanding why the stocks mistakenly sold at such a low price were valued so high. How could one stock be worth $9000 US (or whatever the value would be). Is this normal? I guess I've just heard about stocks reaching $100 or $200 and then doing something to bring the individual price per share down (a payout, split, etc.). Can someone explain? In layman's terms please; as you can see, I'm no expert...maybe not even reasonably well-versed. Sorry.

Originally posted by person
    I tried discussing the articles but it's an invalid link hence this thread --

I'm not an expert investor/financial person by any means. However, I have a question --

From what I understood, most stocks split (or do something similar) when the individual share price gets too high. I'm not understanding why the stocks mistakenly sold at such a low price were valued so high. How could one stock be worth $9000 US (or whatever the value would be). Is this normal? I guess I've just heard about stocks reaching $100 or $200 and then doing something to bring the individual price per share down (a payout, split, etc.). Can someone explain? In layman's terms please; as you can see, I'm no expert...maybe not even reasonably well-versed. Sorry.