X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coming To Japan

I have been reading these forums for some time and have decided that I will actually move to Japan in May/June.

Initially, as I am a graduate and qualified teacher, I would be considering teaching as my first option. With more than 11 years of teaching experience I don't see much problem with the job market in that respect and the salary seems adequate. Presently, I work in Moscow, Russia where I have worked in management roles within educational institutes.

However, I am also a published photographer and would ultimately aim at opening a studio in Japan in the future along with my Russian spouse to be.

My question: if anyone would be so kind to answer, is would it be better to come via a corporate school or simply arrive off the boat so to speak?

I am 36. Is there an element of ageism in Japan?

Not surprisingly, I have noted alot of attacks of English teachers from 'corporate' types and also see this in Russia too. I have also seen alot of attacks on the major schools, which does create some concern as I initially thought that they would be a good starting point.

Overall, I won't be put off by any nonsensical 'don't come we've got enough foreigners' attitudes - that simply does not work and as an expat of more than 11 years I know the score with alot of local expat folk...

So, anybody offer me some sound advice.

Cheers

D:

Originally posted by darcy
    I have been reading these forums for some time and have decided that I will actually move to Japan in May/June.
    Welcome on board, Darcy. Where in Japan are you moving to?