Changing my surname in Japan

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Changing my surname in Japan

yes yes, its the question a lot of foreigners would pose upon themselves when naturalizing to another country.

Now as I am still a High school student, i have quite a few years before I can even make this decision, and there will be new people in my life that would have a lot of input in this at that point, but I'm a person that likes to plan way to far ahead in time, and I'm just curious to hear opinions and experiences from random strangers online.

Now, normally, I would not consider changing my name just to fit in a bit in a new location, it doesn't seem right to me, to wear a name that isn't yours in any respect. If I went to live in, say, Korea, I would certianly not dub myself Kim Joseph and call it a day.

Japan would be an exception to this way of thinking for just a few reasons. A few of my direct ancestors from a bit more than half a century ago were actually Japanese, so as part of my ancestral heritage, I have a Japanese surname I can rightfully call my own.

My American name draws from the Puerto Rican line of heritage in my hectic family tree. Joseph Montanez.
    Now, as my last name is Spanish, and not German or Russian, etc., it should be easy to pronounce in Japanese, since the two langauges share similar vowel sounds. But I'd hate to pass up the chance to wear a different name than usual since I love change so much, and I'd certianly hate for my fututre children (If I am so lucky to have that in my future) to be called モンタニェズ by their teachers or peers or in their future work-life and day to day lives.

My idea was to go by Joseph Montanez in America and whatever country its more convenient in, and then go by ジョセフ (insert Japanese surname here)* whilst in japan and any country where that would prove more convenient.