Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is the best way to set up a 'study abroad' program for

Hi,

Just so you know, this may be a little complicated, so bear with me. I am currently a student at a technical school, and I'm working full time. I would eventually like to, like many others, live and work in Japan for at least a few years. I am worried that if I only have a 2 year tech school degree, and not a 4 year university degree, that no one in Japan will take me seriously. And so I have decided that after I finish up the tech school, that I want to go to a university for a complete 4 year degree.

I don't have a clue how these study abroad systems work, I don't know how much they cost, I don't know what you need to sign up, and all of the program web sites I have found have not given me any understandable information as of yet.

So my questions are as follows:

1. Generally, how much does this cost per year, for an average level university
    2. What are the typical academic requirements
    3. How do the accomodations/food/etc work
    4. How long are you allowed to study for (i.e. 1 year, 2 years, 4..)
    5. How good at the language do I need to be

I'm probably asking all the wrong questions, but any and all information on this topic would help greatly.

Re: What is the best way to set up a 'study abroad' program

If you are looking at staying and working in Japan for any serious length of time then it is absolutely vital that you get a four-year university degree( needed for visa applications-no degree, no visa).
    You basically have two ways to go:
    1) Enter a university in your home country which has an exchange program to Japan.These types of programs are usually for a limited time in your Sophomore year etc but you may have the option to come back to Japan once you graduate.
    2) Enter a Japanese university