X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice and information please.

I am planning to live in Tokyo for up to 12 months. My main intention is to study martial arts. The place where I'll be training has lessons all throughout the week, mornings and early evenings. My main reason for going to Japan is not for work.

My questions to everyone is, what kind of employment is there that will give me a good level of flexibility to do what I want and yet have enough money to live on.

I have a masters degree in aeronautical engineering and am in full time employment with an engineering company in the UK.

They are willing to let me take a career break for up to one year and I will be able to reenter the company on leaving Japan.

Any advice out there? I will attempt to get sponsorship etc. to assist me, but should I have an amount of money saved up to take out there too.

I went to Tokyo two summers' ago and stayed with a friend's parents. That friend of mine (from uni course) had said that I could stay with her parents and could also keep her dad company (she is an only child and studies in the UK).

But I'm not sure if she was only being polite; I shall be asking her again though. Also, I am not sure if I would be asking too much from her parents. I can however offer to work for them as they own a flower business.

Anyone want to have a stab at this question?

Much appreciated.

Stan

Post Edited (01-28-04 21:04)

Re: Advice and information please.

Ill take a crack

assuming you will come to Japan on a culture visa, you will be able to work part time up to 20 hours a week. Your visa will likely need to be sponsored by the school you study at.