X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Me

As of now, I am a sophomore in high school, and I know that this may sound overly ambitious to those who reply to this thread, but I'm planning on learning Japanese, applying for a job (maybe teaching english or something), and, eventually, moving to Japan. So, I was wondering if I could get some tips and information from people already experienced in what I want to accomplish, as a matter of fact, even a "try your best!" would be appreciated. Just help me in some way, please?

Re: Help Me

What country are you in?
    You need a bachelor's degree (or many years of experience) to get a work visa. Many native English speakers don't need a degree to qualify for a working holiday visa. Americans are not eligible for the WHV.

Look at the visa web link on this site for info on other visa requirements.

You don't need Japanese to teach English. It's usually prohibited in the classroom anyway. Japanese will be needed more for your daily life events.

Read the FAQ section on www.eltnews.com Teaching Guide links and on the www.eslcafe.com/discussion forum for Japan to give yourself some starting background material. You might also want to look at the JET programme site for post-college opportunities.

Comment

As of now, I am a sophomore in high school, and I know that this may sound overly ambitious to those who reply to this thread, but I'm planning on learning Japanese, applying for a job (maybe teaching english or something),

IF you plan on doing something other than teach English you need

1. the proper visa that allows you to do jobs that dont involve teaching. Your visa dictates what you can and can not do in this country.
      2. A high level of fluency in Japanese. There are millions of bilingual Japanese doing all kinds of jobs in this country and they dont need to import foreigners to do jobs they can do.