Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Top Module
Collapse

How much does a typical movie ticket cost (in tokyo)?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How much does a typical movie ticket cost (in tokyo)?

Hello

I plan to go to Tokyo early next June for about 1 or 2 months. And since i'm a big movie buff i was just wondering how much would a tipical movie ticket cost. Over here (USA) i pay only 6 bucks (Y722) but that's only because i'm a student, soon i will have to pay $7.50 (Y903) for an adult ticket.

So when i get over there will i see similar prices? Or will i have to pay something like Y1500 or even Y2000?

thanks for the help.

Re: How much does a typical movie ticket cost (in tokyo)?

Tickets are about Y1600 to Y1800. However, if you are only going to be in Tokyo for 1-2 months, it is possible that there won't be any movies released that you haven't already seen. There is about a 3-6 month lag from the time that movies are released in North America and their release in Japan (all those subtitles take time, you know).

Comment

Los Angeles ticket prices are about $9. The really amazing thing in Japan is the price of the tiny tiny popcorn, candy and sodas. And the fact that they sell souveniers at the theater.

Release dates are not always that far behind. Charlie's Angels, James Bond, and many more have same day release that actually makes it seem like its a day earlier than in the US.

And don't forget there are Japanese and other "foreign" films to see. Check out http://www.returner.net/ for an example of a high budget action looking film that was never released in the US.

Comment

Alyssa