X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deaf Japanese

Does anyone here have any deaf Japanese friends? Where do you find them?

I'm watching this drama about this deaf japanese girl and have been sort of inspired to meet some deaf japanese people(whenever I make it to Japan). I'd like to learn Japanese Sign Language.

Thanks.

Re: Deaf Japanese

JSL is a lot different from ASL. I have been taking ASL classes with Deaf Japanese students, and it's quite interesting.

JASS is a non-profit organization in Tokyo (Iidabashi station) that teaches ASL, but you also get a chance to get involved with the Japanese Deaf Community. Really a lot of fun - check it out here:

http://members.aol.com/JASSJP/contents/class_e.html

Comment

My girlfriend is deaf. There is a school for the deaf in Hurtsuka south of Tokyo. I am studying JSL now. It's fun I wish I did this sooner. I want to become a translator for English to Japanese for the deaf. I find is easier to learn than the Japanese language.

Comment

Now that I'm studying it I see it more often. Just as Japanese are about everything...they tend to compress the gestures in public. Not to much hand swinging. Even looking to see if they are annoying anyone. I say who cares! Your handicaped, you have a right to express yourself. Those drunk businessmen on the evening train sure do.

Comment

ASL NVS are much different than JSL NVS (or CL). For example, I took a class that was much more advanced verbally than I was, but my NVS were far far more advanced than them in terms of facial expressions. JSL uses more mouth shapes than face shapes, and you'll hear a lot of clicking and smacking coming from them. Really distracting for me who learned ASL without any sound effects.