X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Non-white Gaijin

Im currently a high school student from the Chicago area who went on a two-week trip to Japan through our high school with some friends and two high schools in Japan. Im a fair-skinned Filipino-American and most of my friends that were with me were Caucasian, with the blonde hair and blue eyes . While in Japan, it felt as though I was "looked over" or not as important as the other students. I would walk around with one my hakujin friends and japanese students would run up to him and want a pic with him and jus kinda look at me funny. Im not really upset about this particular experience in Japan, but I wonder if im seen as less of an 'American'. I study Japanese and a I aspire to live/work in Japan someday. What is it like to be a westerner but not exactly 'appear' to be one?

Dragon;
    First let me just say welcome. You answered your own question in the post. You asked what it's like to be a non-anglo/saxon looking American in Japan and then described what happened when you came. They even regard Japanese-Americans as something strange and not quite Japanese.
    Of course they don't intend to disqualify you as an American, but if you don't look like Tom Cruise or Leonarudo Decapurio they will see you as an American transplant. Not nearly as exciting as meeting the "real" thing.
    The good news is if you have solid goals when you come over here, it won't matter. You'll just miss out on being treated like a token. There's some sport here in putting hakujins on pedastals and then knocking them down, and it's better to avoid that altogether.
    Cheers

Comment

Hello Non-white Gaijin