Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finding a job in Tokyo....

Hi everyone,
    I know i'm probably rehashing the same topic about acquiring work in Japan but here goes.

-I'm currently residing in the US but would desperately like to find work in the Tokyo area. The problem is that there seems to be nothing available other than teaching English. Please tell me there are other jobs besides teaching. I came across an ad for a position in the import/export business and wanted to know if there are others here who have experience in the aformentioned field? If so, i'm curious to hear of your experiences.

-I have a degree in East Asian Studies but this isn't exactly the most marketable degree to most employers. I've had nothing but difficulty securing professional work and feel that teaching English may be my only option. After graduation I was offered two positions teaching English in Tokyo but declined the offers because it wasn't what I wanted to do. Am I being unrealistic? Should I be content with the jobs that are available or should I bide my time and wait for something more appealing to come along? I guess I feel like I don't want to be just another "foreigner" who teaches English.

-I'm curious to know what an employer looks at when reviewing a potential employee's resume. My work experience isn't quite what I'd like it to be but I do feel that I have a strong educational background. I attended a private university in the US and spent my senior year at Sophia University in Tokyo. This may mean jack squat to some people but I figured it might increase my chances of securing a position with some company.