X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What it is like to work in Japan

About a year and a half ago, following lehman-induced financial trouble for the engineering company I was working for in London I decided to pack up my stuff and go to my wife's home country: our beloved Japan! Everybody said "don't do it", but I though "how bad can it be? They just fear my intellectual powers and want to keep their good jobs to themselves!". Arrived here, posted on this forum to find out about jobs. Got ridiculed by the wiser members and though "____ them!". Turns out they were right.

Now I see there are still loads of posts by fresh-faced and hopeful foreigners about getting jobs in Japan, so I thought I'd write some stuff about how it has been for me here in the hope that some might see how things can be if you are overly optimistic... or maybe just plain stupid like me.

Anyways, I worked as a structural engineer in London for three years before coming here. That's not much, but for my defence, I did a PhD before that, but that's another matter and just more confirmation of my stupidity if you will. I also spoke fairly good Japanese at the time.
    I thought in coming here that since engineering principles are the same regardless of the country and it would be possible to get a job in engineering. Didn't want to become an English teacher, because, well, I'm still not sure what you do then when you go back to Europe... teach English?

Job hunt sucked, there was nothing available. I really wished I had listened to he nay-sayers. Then I talked to a connection I found through my wife, who had a friend whose husband was the son of a civil engineering company here in Gifu and he agreed to let me have a year of work-experience at his company. That sounded like a plan: Improve my Japanese and get engineering experience, so I took it.