Announcement

Collapse

The GaijinPot Forum Is Closed

Please join us on our new Facebook Group.
See more
See less

Collapse

Japanese music equivalent

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Japanese music equivalent

Hey everyone,

Here I am again with my particular questions about music. Last time, I was looking for remakes (in Japanese). Now, I would like to find "equivalents", or Japanese bands that sound like English-speaking music or even particular bands.

I'm studying Japanese and music is really important to me, so I would like to still be able to enjoy it... in Japanese.

Here are a few bands I like :

System of a Down
    Alexisonfire
    Rage Against the Machine
    Weezer (Blue album)
    Fall Out Boy
    GreenDay
    NOFX
    Disturbed
    Rammstein (not American, but really good)
    Blink 182 (especially the first albums)
    Sum41
    Matthew Good (not always good, but some songs can blow your mind)

...and a lot more, but I kinda forgot, since it's been a while since I listened to music in English. As you can imagine, I'm not a Mr.Children/SMAP/Arashi kind of guy so only fast-paced punk/pop/rock. Heck, I'm even open to 80's music if it's catchy enough.

What I found so far :

Mongol800 : sometimes sounds like Greenday or (old) Blink 182. Unfortunately, there's a lot of "EngRish" lyrics, even complete sounds in "EngRish", so not very useful, as you can imagine.

Maximum the Hormone : really really good, but unfortunately, even native Japanese speakers have a hard time understanding what they say... It's really unique, but let's say it is in the same category as System of a Down.

凛として時雨 (Rintositegure) This band, in my opinion, is as good as English-speaking music. It's hard to describle, but there's some Silverchair and Alexisonfire in it. I know, I'm terrible at describing music, I hope you will be better at it than I am.

Thank you!