Announcement

Collapse

The GaijinPot Forum Is Closed

Please join us on our new Facebook Group.
See more
See less

Collapse

Best places to meet people in Tokyo?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best places to meet people in Tokyo?

I just arrived in Japan about a week ago. I@started an english teaching job here in Soka just outside of Tokyo. Im new to Tokyo and I'm curious to know about where the best places are to meet people. If working for a small private school and the only other teacher there besides me is my boss but he is older and has a family etc. My boss is a great guy but mostly focused on the situation in Japan. He has a family here, is a lot older than me,and very much preocuppied with keeping the business running, so he isn't someone I can really "hang out" with.
    From what I've seen he's the only other gaijin besides me in Soka. If a pretty social guy and feeling really isolated but I have no clue where to go. My japanese level is very low too unfortunatly.

I'm interested in meeting japanese or other gaijin but I get the impression that the bars in Soka don't cater well to foriegners. Anyone close to Soka or have any tips or advice on places I could go to meet people in Tokyo?

I appreciate the help!

Originally posted by vansandn View Post
    Best places to meet people in Tokyo?
    try Higashi Umeda....

Comment

Well, I guess that's the only place apparently! lol
      I will be sure to check it out though and I appreciate the feedback.

Comment

Soka is in Saitama , I give it a couple more weeks to get your head around to where you have landed .

Follow the Guinness trail and before you know it , you'll be shagging a queue or a flock depending on your collage of taste .

have a rummage in this place

http://bigdaikon.org/board/viewtopic...47571&start=30
        Last edited by AW1; 2011-04-07, 10:05 AM.

Comment