Announcement

Collapse

The GaijinPot Forum Is Closed

Please join us on our new Facebook Group.
See more
See less

Collapse

Buying a computer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying a computer

So I work as a Environment artist for Game companies in Tokyo and I do a lot of work from home.

Sadly I had to move away from my 30man computer in another country and i have been putting up with my laptop until this weekend
    when it started shutting down because of heating problems, and for those of you that live in Tokyo you probably know it wasnt even close to warm
    this weekend, so I don't even wanna know how summer will be.

So now I'm looking into buying a new computer, sadly can't afford a 30 man computer but rather up until 13 man.
    I haven't been in the market for a computer for a while and things constantly change, but I will do mostly 3D related work,
    watching movies and playing an occasional game.

Do you have any recommendations on custom built computers? I have looked at Dospara
    and i guess that might be the best option, just get a feeling im getting screwed over if i compare to other
    countries prices, but well I know that's how it is here, but I wanted to atleast try and ask.

So please advice me.

My laptop was overheating a few years ago. I took it apart and noticed the heatsink was all gummed up with hair and whatnot. I took it out and rinsed it off with soap and hot water, put everything back together, and good as new! If you're not inclined to take your laptop apart, you can probably find a shop in Akihabara to do it for you, for a modest fee, of course.

I still use a laptop as my main dev box, just hooking up a big monitor and real keyboard and mouse for heavy use at home.

Comment

Originally posted by gaijin1987 View Post
      So I work as a Environment artist for Game companies in Tokyo and I do a lot of work from home.