Announcement

Collapse

The GaijinPot Forum Is Closed

Please join us on our new Facebook Group.
See more
See less

Collapse

14 Years in the Making. One Year to Go.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 14 Years in the Making. One Year to Go.

I am 22, will be 23 later this year.
    I am studying Accounting at a university and will graduate next year.
    My Japanese is poor but I am studying with zeal.
    I have been to Japan before for 2 months via a student exchange program five years ago. (120 Yen to the Dollar, I miss that)
    I have a plan and need advice or a better angle.

I am planning on applying to JET this coming October for their 2014 program. I have already secured letters of recommendation from teachers. Is there a "better" program? I simply went with JET because it is the most well known and I've heard a lot of negative things about Interac.

I am hoping to have my Japanese skills up to slightly-sub conversational level by August 2014. I realize that no matter how hard I study the jump to "conversation level" will only come with conversation with locals. I've tried the Japanese club at my university and it's full of weeabos and I mean that in the most derogatory fashion. I think it actually devolved to the new anime club that started last year.