Announcement

Collapse

The GaijinPot Forum Is Closed

Please join us on our new Facebook Group.
See more
See less

Collapse

Anti-Depressants/Anti-Anxiety Medication

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anti-Depressants/Anti-Anxiety Medication

I'm a year abroad student in Japan, from the UK originally. I have a 1 year student visa and pay student health insurance.

I have a history of depression and anxiety for many years and it has recently become a lot worse. I have 5 months left in Japan and I was wondering if anyone has any experience trying to get some anti-depressants from doctors here.

My japanese isn't great, but I can communicate on a basic level. I have heard they are not very good here at dealing with mental health problems, and also don't have such a wide variety of medication available.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Originally posted by short_breath View Post
    My japanese isn't great, but I can communicate on a basic level. I have heard they are not very good here at dealing with mental health problems, and also don't have such a wide variety of medication available.

Cant really help you here, depression is called utsu-byo in Japanese, there are certified and licenced English speaking doctors and psychiatrists if you do a search of Mental Health professionals. Japan also has its fair share of bipolars as well.

Comment

I'm a year abroad student in Japan, from the UK originally. I have a 1 year student visa and pay student health insurance.

I have a history of depression and anxiety for many years and it has recently become a lot worse. I have 5 months left in Japan and I was wondering if anyone has any experience trying to get some anti-depressants from doctors here.

I would not screw aroundm just order what you need of some pharmacy site off the net! I do.

Comment

Originally posted by BackDoor_Man View Post
        I would not screw aroundm just order what you need of some pharmacy site off the net! I do.