Announcement

Collapse

The GaijinPot Forum Is Closed

Please join us on our new Facebook Group.
See more
See less

Collapse

Bringing Media Hard Drives to Japan from US

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bringing Media Hard Drives to Japan from US

Hi all,

I'm looking for any insight or experience you all may have with bringing hard drives containing digital media to Japan.

I'm a music production hobbyist so I have Gigs upon Gigs of sound libraries. I also do some video editing, and I have a rather large library of movies/TV Shows. Most of these libraries are rips from DVDs I've purchased, some are from... other places.

A point, apparently important enough to be put in bold, on my employment contract addendum was that Japan forbids the import of pirated media. While not all my media can be considered such, some of it might be.

So, do I:

1) Ship the drives separately and list them on the itemized bill as "media Libraries"

2) Pack them in my checked baggage and hope they don't get inspected

3) Carry them on and hope for the same?

Any advice or experiential lessons would be greatly appreciated. Sounds like things are pretty stern in Japan regarding pirated media (been reading many of the threads abotu torrenting, DLvs UL, PVPNs, etc) and I appreciate all the convos going on about the matter. great to know before I get there.

Thanks!

So, your question is how you can get away with breaking Japanese law?
    No shortage of those questions on CriminalPot.

Bring it with you and customs might decide to have a look.
    Good chance your time in Japan would be over.
    Or maybe just a big fine.

Have it posted to you.. customs might open it and same result would ensue.

Maybe try not coming to another country with the intention of breaking the laws.
    Too radical a thought?

Comment

Originally posted by hennagaijin View Post
      So, your question is how you can get away with breaking Japanese law?