Announcement

Collapse

The GaijinPot Forum Is Closed

Please join us on our new Facebook Group.
See more
See less

Collapse

Advice on living and working in Japan.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on living and working in Japan.

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice.

I am a 24 year old female from England hoping to do a Working Holiday Visa early next year in Japan. My primary objective is to further my Japanese language skills and experience Japanese culture.

I have a good amount of savings to help me get set up, and Ifm not particularly fussy about lodgings (as long as itfs a safe environment.) I have been learning Japanese for around 4 months now, and I feel I am at that stage where I want to be speaking it every day, learning new words etc. I am educated to HND level (All but the last year of a BA.) and I hold a TEFL certificate. I also help out at a local college once a week on their ESOL evening courses.

Do you think my chances of finding work will be slim? I would like to teach, but I wouldnft even mind bar work. Anything to just help me with my language skills really. Ifm not looking for sponsorship as I know that you have to have a BA for that. I think the year on the WHV will be enough though.

I guess to put it simple, I would like your thoughts as to whether or not I could survive and find work in Japan. As Ifm sure you all know, it is a big life decision to move to a foreign country.

Many thanks for reading!

I think you will be fine. You sound like just the sort of person to not only survive but thrive. I'm sure you will find work and I'm sure you will adapt to its demands.

Enjoy it.

Comment

If you're relatively cute you might want to look into hostessing. They're always hiring. You can basically start working the same day as you apply.
      Without a B.A your English teaching chances won't be great and you will be paid a survival wage if you get a job.