Announcement

Collapse

The GaijinPot Forum Is Closed

Please join us on our new Facebook Group.
See more
See less

Collapse

Applying to International Schools

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Applying to International Schools

If you applied to International Schools but had a fake teaching certificate and they found out would you be either prosecuted in your home country or in Japan? You already had a Japanese visa and references.

Originally posted by ramen1 View Post
    If you applied to International Schools but had a fake teaching certificate and they found out would you be either prosecuted in your home country or in Japan? You already had a Japanese visa and references.
    I'm no lawyer, but I'd think that the most likely thing tol happen is that the school will sue to return your past salary as you would not have been eligible to teach in the first place. They will then likely also inform the university that supposedly issued the fake degree to prosecute you for using their credentials without authorization. It's also likely that they will inform immigration and if the fake certificate was used for the visa, they can detain and throw you out immediately.

Whether there will be an extra indictment for 'forgery' in Japan is a tricky issue. The 'foreign teaching licence' is probably not recognized in Japan, so the J-authorities might not care about it.

Usually these things come to light if the person is 'substandard' and people start to ask questions like 'where the f*** did he get the teaching license.'
    Last edited by ttokyo; 2011-11-04, 11:18 AM.

Comment

My guess is preliminary background checks would reveal where your qualifications came from way before you got anywhere near a classroom. Its only a matter of a few phone calls, an internet check to see if a person is on the level or not. You would definitely be tossed out on your ear if any discrepancies came to light.

Comment

Originally posted by KansaiBen View Post