Announcement

Collapse

The GaijinPot Forum Is Closed

Please join us on our new Facebook Group.
See more
See less

Collapse

At A Loss

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• At A Loss

I'm an Aussie, in my mid sixties with a Japanese wife. I'm retired but have a farm producing organic, free range eggs in Oz. My wife and I drift in and out of Japan on a regular basis, but are looking to move back there permanenly. My problem is that I'm at a loss what to do when we get there. I have an MBA (so not a total dummy), am financially comfortable and have a spousal visa.

In previous posts, I've asked about doing the Eikawa entertainer thing again (I spent 7 pointless but fun years with Nova in the 90s). I've also posted about being a marriage celebrant. That sounds like fun, but not a regular gig, I'm told. My thanks to those of you who gave me good advice in those posts. Both of those involve working for someone else, which I'm not good at. We're considering the Inaka, self sufficiency thing, but I'm a bit farmed out and my wife, being an Osaka lady, misses the bright lights.

So, my question, to all you enlightened people, is what can you suggest as a start up business in Japan? And no, I'm not interested in buying or taking over a mobile dim sim stall!

I look forward to well thought out, intelligent responses.

A good investment is food and drink. People love to eat and drink, if you do it right you can have a moneymaker and your wife can get the licenses no sweat.

Comment

Originally posted by oxymoron View Post
      So, my question, to all you enlightened people, is what can you suggest as a start up business in Japan? And no, I'm not interested in buying or taking over a mobile dim sim stall!

I look forward to well thought out, intelligent responses.