Announcement

Collapse

The GaijinPot Forum Is Closed

Please join us on our new Facebook Group.
See more
See less

Collapse

Career Ideas for my multi-faceted experience

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Career Ideas for my multi-faceted experience

Hello everyone! I am excited to dive into this forum and learn as much as I can about the possibility of living in Japan. I'm an 32yo American guy and have spent the last 10 years in Los Angeles, California. Last year I met the woman of my dreams and we are going to be married next year in May. My fiance is Japanese and has been living in LA for around 6-7 years so she has become comfortable here, however we both are constantly and romantically kicking around the idea of moving to Japan to be with her family.

Oddly enough, I studied Japanese in high school for 4 years and have just started up studying again since getting engaged. We visited Tokyo earlier this year and I met her family, stayed there for around 3 weeks and had the time of my life. I didn't want to leave at all. My Japanese is very rusty and still very basic, but I know the language will come quickly the more time I am there. I am absolutely fascinated with the language and culture and the idea of really immersing myself in it and experiencing it with my wife and family is really something truly exciting to me.

I have a good career going here in California selling real estate, however it is a bit rough for us not having any family close by. My parents are in Detroit and her whole family is in Tokyo. My priorities have really changed in the past year and I'd say we are both not ruling out the option of living in Japan if it makes sense. Sacrificing my high income here for an amazing family life is something that may become more tempting in the years to come.