Announcement

Collapse

The GaijinPot Forum Is Closed

Please join us on our new Facebook Group.
See more
See less

Collapse

Breaking a contract?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Breaking a contract?

I have a one year contract. However there a few things on it. It says it is from April 20 to March 10 and I cannot break it but it says if the school continues past March 10 I have to keep on until the schoolfinishes. So even though it is a fixed date contract would this clause make it an unlimited term contract whereby I could give two weeks notice? a mistake by the employer. Also I have renewed 2 times now so I read according to Japanese law if you renew the contract a couple of times you only have to give 2 weeks notice because it becomes an unlimited term contract.
    Does anyone know more about this?
    I studied law before coming to Japan but not Japanese law.

By law you only have to give two weeks notice to quit although giving a month's notice is more polite.

The original 'no quitting' clause was unenforceable and the paper it was written on best used as as toilet paper.

Comment

Originally posted by paulbochniak
      I have a one year contract. However there a few things on it. It says it is from April 20 to March 10 and I cannot break it but it says if the school continues past March 10 I have to keep on until the schoolfinishes. So even though it is a fixed date contract would this clause make it an unlimited term contract whereby I could give two weeks notice? a mistake by the employer. Also I have renewed 2 times now so I read according to Japanese law if you renew the contract a couple of times you only have to give 2 weeks notice because it becomes an unlimited term contract.
      Does anyone know more about this?
      I studied law before coming to Japan but not Japanese law.