Announcement

Collapse

The GaijinPot Forum Is Closed

Please join us on our new Facebook Group.
See more
See less

Collapse

Company Sponsership with a "University Degree"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Company Sponsership with a "University Degree"

Hey guys, I have a few questions that have almost brought heart to stop. Doing this under Anonymity to limit issues.

So I just had a test with a company, passed it and also passed the first interview. I have the second interview and I feel very confident about it. They asked me if I had a university degree. I do have a university degree. However, after looking over a few forums including here. Everyone has the idea that you have to have a 4 year degree. I only have a 2 year degree, however I have a lot of experience (around 7 years). I looked at the legal papers (translated albeit), and it makes no mention of needing a 4-year degree to get a working visa.

http://www.japaneselawtranslation.go...06&vm=04&re=01

This company isn't like the biggest company in Japan, but it is definitely a very popular and perhaps long standing company (phone app developing). If they decide to Sponsor my work visa, is it possible that it will fail? (I've heard people getting their work visas with just a 2-year degree before but not as many times as people bashing with the 'Always a 4-year degree' chant I've been seeing mostly)

I'm just curious as to what you guys think. If you say I have to have a 4 year degree or no luck, please state your reasons for assuming it's a 4 year degree. Thanks guys.

If all you have is the 2-year degree, you are likely not going to get a visa.

Associate's degree?
    Canadian college diploma?
    Bachelor's degree achieved in record time?

You need the equivalent to a bachelor's degree, and depending on nationality, that may be acquired in 3 or 4 years.

If you have some work experience to accompany the degree, perhaps an immigration lawyer can slip you by.