Announcement

Collapse

The GaijinPot Forum Is Closed

Please join us on our new Facebook Group.
See more
See less

Collapse

Coming to Japan 2014

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coming to Japan 2014

Hello all!

I've been thinking for awhile about going to Japan in 2014, to spend some time to experience the country. I'm not really looking to make a lot of money, I'm aware that teaching jobs don't really pay that much after all living expenses are taken into account. I've been to Japan twice before, and loved it both times.

I'm looking to stay more long term this time. I have studied Japanese at a level to be able to be conversational, although kanji is pretty bad for me. I have a degree, so I can apply for a working holiday visa to get into Japan. I'm pretty flexible with where I work, although I'd prefer to be placed in Tokyo, Osaka or Nagoya.

Would it be worth it to take a TESOL course? I'm looking at taking an online course here in Australia - would it help with teaching, getting a job etc or is it a waste of money? Or should I just show up in January and start applying like mad everywhere, which is my current plan?

Originally posted by shinotoko View Post
    Or should I just show up in January and start applying like mad everywhere, which is my current plan?
    Hello.

This ^. But 2014 is pretty far away.. Japan might not even be here by then, what with all the nukes and korea and china and radiation and 2.5 and earthquakes and volcanos and crap. I Wouldn't worry too much about it, until about late november 2013.

although I'd prefer to be placed in Tokyo, Osaka or Nagoya.
    Although why the heck would anyone want to work in Nagoya?? If you had said Tokyo, Osaka and (Yokohama/Chiba/Hiroshima/Okinawa/freaking the middle of the desert Tottori) I wouldn't have been surprised, particularly. But Nagoya??!! Why the hell there? I would personally avoid it like the plague. Other than that...

Comment

What is wrong with Nagoya....?

Comment